Notifications
Clear all

Where did YOU learn music theory?

17 Posts
15 Users
0 Likes
(@psyka)
Topic starter  

I'm currently trying to understand music theory, but it doesnt seem that the information is organized in a concise mannor. Thats probably because I'm largely uninformed in the subject. I'm not confident in my knowledge, yet, nor can I apply my knowledge to the fretboard. I can form major, minor, seventh chords, and I know the two main scales. I know a little about the circle of fifths, and how to conform a chord progression to major and minor scale tonalities.

I've been playing for about 5 years, and now I'm getting serious. Enough noodling around on the guitar, I want to make it sing! I used to want to be the dude who does all the badass solo's but, now I'd rather prefer to be a rythm player. I have no background in music, and so I'm basically doing this from scratch. Tried a few teachers, but they didnt really help out very much... more annoying than helpful. I bought Tom's (NoteBoat) book, and it seems more like a helpful reference book than a step-by-step learning tool.

Enough rambling, I'm curious as to how you all learned music theory, so maybe I can get my momentum moving forward at a faster rate, cause I should be much better than I currently am :/

So...how did you do it?!

(@321barf)
Estimable Member

Mostly from the internet,lol. :lol:
Enough noodling around on the guitar, I want to make it sing!

If you work alot at it then you'll get better at it.

Here's some suggestions...