Notifications
Clear all

Where do I start?

4 Posts
3 Users
0 Likes
(@scelestus)
Topic starter  

Hi everyone... I've  been playing guitar for close to a year now; I've been teaching myself, since it's something I've wanted to learn for a long time. I'm not new to music, I've been playing piano for about 8 years or so. I realize this site has an abundance of good lessons and stuff, but I don't know where to start. My goal is to be able to write songs and my own stuff and be able to perform. Yes, I realize that it doesn't happen over night, and I am willing to put in the long hours of practice. But as far as theory goes, I just don't know where to start. I don't want to be the stereotypical beginner who learns a few songs from tab, then eventually lets his guitar collect dust in the corner. I know what a scale is, chords, modes, and all of that stuff, but I still don't understand how it all fits together. I was just hoping that someone could point me in the right direction. Thanks

~Scott

(@paul-donnelly)
Noble Member

I'd say you need to concentrate on melody.  Without that, your song becomes more of a pleasant (or not so much, depending on the mood of the piece) background sound.  A melody, however, is alive, draws you in, and is exciting.

Composing on a wind instrument (a six hole thing like a tin whistle is quickest to pick up, the recorder second quickest), or a bowed string is a good way to get started.  The reason is because the guitar can't sustain and control a note the way a flute, or recorder, or violin, or the human voice can.  That's important in making a melody sing.  The guitar can play a melody just as effectively as any of those, but the player must be especially good at "making it sing".  On the guitar or piano, a song can to easily fall flat, since the dynamic control some instruments have just isn't there.