Clear all

where to put capo for key of Eb?

10 Posts
7 Users
0 Likes
13.3 K Views
(@archon)
Topic starter  

Ive been playing guitar for almost 6 years now. but having taught myself i dont know much theory behind the music i create...

i also play the didgeridoo and my didj happens to be a key of Eb didj.

so, my question is: where would i put my capo so i could play standard chord formations in the key of Eb? i know what chords are in the key of Eb (but many of those chords are not extremely fun to play :lol: )

thanks in advance

(@kingpatzer)
Noble Member

Capo on 1 and play in D
Capo on 4 and play in C
Capo on 6 and play in A
Capo on 8 and play in G
Capo on 11 and play in E

"The music business is a cruel and shallow money trench, a long plastic hallway where thieves and pimps run free, and good men die like dogs. There's also a negative side." -- HST

ReplyQuote
(@greybeard)
Illustrious Member

Just to flesh out what kingpatzer said. If you put a capo on the first fret and play the chord sequence as if you were playing in the key of D (e.g. a I-IV-V would be D-G-A). Raising them by one half tone (which is what the capo on the 1st fret does) results in Eb-Ab-Bb.

I started with nothing - and I've still got most of it left.
Did you know that the word "gullible" is not in any dictionary?
Greybeard's Pages
My Articles & Reviews on GN

ReplyQuote
(@musenfreund)
Illustrious Member

I have to admit though I think my first instinct would be to tune down half a step and play in E.
And welcome to the musical madhouse.

Well we all shine on--like the moon and the stars and the sun.
-- John Lennon

ReplyQuote
(@kingpatzer)
Noble Member

As a jazz guy, I think it would be even better to just develop the chording skill to play in Eb in an un-capo'ed, un-detuned instrument. Eb is a very important key for Jazz and other ensemble pieces because lots of horns are in Eb and it's easier for all the C instrument to play in Eb than for the Eb instruments to play in C.