Why learn scales and arpeggios???

11 Posts
9 Users
0 Likes
(@anonymous)
Illustrious Member
Topic starter  

Hi,
Well, my questions is in the subject  ;) What are the benefits of learnig scales and arpeggios?
Concerning theory I'm a compete beginner, could you give me some kind of a path I should follow in learning theory and applaying it to guitar. Where should I start? Why I should learn it?
Thank you in advance.
Regards,
Tomek

(@argus)
Reputable Member

Learn the major scale. The majority of chord progressions are based off the notes in the major scale. It's the building block of Western music. After you learn the major scale, learn the natural minor scale and the major and minor pentatonics.

ReplyQuote
(@noteboat)
Illustrious Member

Solos may jump around, but the majority of notes in a good solo are pretty close together.  Scales put notes as close as you can consistently get and still sound good over the chord.  Arpeggios put the notes slightly farther apart, and follow the harmonic structure of the chords.

You can make a solo without any knowledge of scales or arpeggios.  If you have a truly remarkable ear, you may be able to do it often.  But great solos, even those created by people who don't 'know' their scales and arpeggios, still use scales and arpeggios.... so knowing them makes becoming a good soloist a faster process, and make you more consistengly good at it.

Tom

Guitar teacher offering lessons in Plainfield IL

ReplyQuote
(@musenfreund)
Illustrious Member

Nothing new add as to the why.  That's pretty clear.  And the more comfortable you are with those scales, the easier it gets to learn solos.  It's almost magic.

I did want to suggest that if you're interested primarily in blues and/or rock, you might want to start with the pentatonic scales.  They're a tad bit easier to learn and make, I think, learning the major scales and modes easier.  But that's just me.  You'll discover lots of rock and blues solos built from the pentatonics.