Notifications
Clear all

First song

6 Posts
4 Users
0 Likes
(@cotton)
Topic starter  

Hi this is my first attempt at writing a song, one of my students has just started as a country singer and recorded his first single. He has agreed to sing it to my wife for me on our 40th anniversary. I cannot sing or play guitar . I believe Elvis used the music to Aura Lee for Love me Tender so I tried to do the same thing . Anniversary
Is in June so I still have some time any suggestions on this would be great.

Friend called to ask if I could meet him after work
Said he had wrote a love song thought I like to hear
Said his anniversary was soon drawing near
Wrote it for his wife you see this is what I saw

When I met her long a go Elvis was the king
Love at first sight stopped me cold chase her till I'm old
Married me made my dreams said its you and me
For ev er and a week – end this will never end

She's my lover she's my life never leaves me blue
She's my best friend She's my wife and I love her true
we're together every night she's still mine alone
Forty years have come and gone children have all grown

Back on our own like before she's still my amore
Forever and a weekend still gets to be said
It must be she loves me same as I love her
Who'de have known in sixty six I'de still be with her

Dirty dancing having fun like we did back then
Still making love staying young cause its to much fun
Song was sung years a go words were different then
Aura Lee her name should be Elvis would agree

(@kingpatzer)
Noble Member

I think the meter is ok, it could be tighter, but I think spending time with your rhyme and general structure will get you further.

First verse is abbc, second verse is abcd, third verse is aabb, fourth verse is abcc, fifth verse is abac. Pick one, or at most two.