Clear all

First song and I need some help!

8 Posts
4 Users
0 Likes
(@kraco)
Eminent Member
Topic starter  

This is my first attempt at song writing and I need some help. First, I think maybe it's too long, hey? Also I'm not sure how many times the Chorus should be used? I liked it with the chorus after every second verse but that made it way to long for sure. Is there a rule or anything for this? There's also two lines I'd like to change but I've racked my brains and can't come up with anything, I've high-lighted the two lines in question, do any of you have a suggestion?

The biggest problem I'm having is playing it in the guitar. I have a melody in my head and if I sing it without music it sounds pretty good, but when I try to play it on the guitar that all changes. I can't seem to be able to find the write chords to match the melody I want, the closest I've come is using A E & D but even then it's not right. It seems like I slow it down too much so I must be having trouble with the rhythm too. I'm not that good on the guitar either, I know a few of the major and minor chords but that's about it so I'm sure that's part of the problem.

Any suggestion's would be appreciated and if you guy's think it just sucks then tell me, it won't hurt my feelings a bit, in fact, I'm getting tired of working on it and I'm almost sick of the song because I've sang it so much trying to get it right, lol. And to be honest I don't think song writing is my cup of tea. :?

I Miss You

I was sit-in on our front porch today
Strum-in on this old guitar
It's where I store your memories
When I'm wandering how you are

They say you're in a better place
And I'm certain that you are
But I keep your heart close to me
Inside this old guitar

I can feel your heart beat
With each base note that I play
And for now it's how I'll get by
Until my judgment day

Missing you is the hardest thing
I've ever had to do
But one day I know I'll see that light
That leads me back to you

Chorus