Notifications
Clear all

having troubles coming up with melody

5 Posts
5 Users
0 Likes
(@jordan0309)
Topic starter  

I dont have much problem with chord progressions, rhythms, lyrics etc...

But I cant make up a melody! Any advice on how you guys do it?

Thanks

(@slowplay)
Honorable Member

I'm no expert on the subject, and I'd love to hear how everyone else approaches it, but pretty much, I just play the chords I've picked and sing something, anything, that fits the chords. Sometimes I change the chords to fit what I feel like singing, sometimes vice-versa. I often have to play the chords, changing up the timing until I "hear" the song in the chords.

On a very few occassions, I find myself whistling something and then realise that its not a song that I've heard before. Then I try to record it as soon as possible and then figure out what the notes are later. One of the funkiest melodies I've ever heard was one that came to me that way, but I wasn't in a situation that I could capture it, so it is lost forever.

Ice cream is a dish best served cold.

ReplyQuote
(@artistx13)
Estimable Member

It comes to me a lot of different ways. A good way to get you started in a directions is take a riff or melody its to mess with it. replace a note, put it in a new key, change the lenths of notes, change the hammer on with a slide, this and that. another way I do it is just mess with the fret board, I play a scale pattern but ad some slides some outside notes and something will come out. Ierno thats how I do it. try it out maybe itll work for you, maybe it wont

Micheal

"I named my son Marshall, yeah I named him after the amp. Of course that wasnt my first choice, I was gonna name him Peavy but my wife didnt like it."- Ron "Tater Salad" White

ReplyQuote
(@p_allen)
Estimable Member