Clear all

HELP..Arranging Leads..Help

8 Posts
4 Users
0 Likes
(@cooker)
Estimable Member
Topic starter  

Hey there..I,m at a point where I need to "bounce it off Boomer" so if you have any working concepts to share....
I am new to song writing,arranging,recording,tracking,overdubbing,singing,(ugh)engineering,mixing,mastering(I can hardly wait),but I am giving it a go...At this stage I have a song which consists of an acoustic rhythm,percussion,vocal,and some backing vocal tracks....no bass yet (I need more friends or I may have to do that too)...it is "okay" but still raw, but coming together slowly...My question to all of you is... How do you go about adding a lead...I think I`m looking for ideas and options on HOW to work and how that relates to making a decision..I think I need a format to follow, so as not to end up with countless tracks of unformulated material......either I am as slow as a melting glacier or as dumb as a box of rocks....thx cooker

You can sleep when you`re dead!
"and baby all you need...is just a little more love"

(@smokindog)
Illustrious Member

Start with somthing SIMPLE :D No more than 4 tracks. Don't worry about a big production, just KEEP IT SIMPLE 8) Track1-basic drum track, 2-bass or 2nd guitar , 3-guitar, 4- vocal. Then you practice mixing it . Get it to sound as full as you can. after you get that done go on to 6 tracks and so on. The point is to start with just a few tracks or you will just get overwhelmed :wink: --the dog

BTW feel free to post your progress in "Hear Here"

My Youtube Page
http://www.youtube.com/user/smokindog
http://www.soundclick.com/smokindogandthebluezers

http://www.soundclick.com/guitarforumjams

ReplyQuote
 Mike
(@mike)
Famed Member

Investing in a quality pair of monitors is going to be a must for you. You will need to hear what it will truely sound like every step of the way.

Try and use a metronome, that way your tracks will line up.