12 Posts
11 Users
0 Likes
(@mewsan)
Topic starter  

I really need help with songwriting! Cabn someone give me some tips? :twisted:

(@bleaseyhighflyer)
Trusted Member

first And Fore most. You need to create an idea of which to write about. This can be done by finding some inspiration, weather its about a stunning girl who works behind the counter at a shop or about how the rain unsettles the water on the surface of a lake.

I like to take a notebook to most places i visit, so if an idea pops into my head i can scribble it down, then when i get home i can rearrange the ideas into some sort of structure and rythm patterns.

The good thing about song writing is that there are very few limitations.. You can write about ANYTHING!!!

Im pretty new to songwriting myself, but i think carrying a note book round is definately worth it.

i know its not much but i hope it helps. Hope to see some of your stuff posted on here soon!!

ciao

" Ah man, that went down like a lead balloon."

ReplyQuote
(@alangreen)

Hallo, Mewsan, and welcome to Guitarnoise.

We have a collection of articles which will help your songwriting. Follow the link from our homepage.

In the meantime, these two articles by Nick are easy to follow and contain lots of good advice.

Songwriting for Beginners

Songwriting for Intermediates

And I'm going to plug one more of Nick's articles:

Gin and Diatonic

which is not about songwriting, and I have my doubts about Bach's knees, but I got told off last time I didn't plug it so I'm overcompensating.

We think you'll like it here. Post some of your lyrics on the Songwriting pages when you've got them finished, then sit back and let everybody say nice things about them.

Best,

A :-)

"Be good at what you can do" - Fingerbanger"
I have always felt that it is better to do what is beautiful than what is 'right'" - Eliot Fisk
Wedding music and guitar lessons in Essex. Listen at: http://www.rollmopmusic.co.uk

ReplyQuote
(@e-sherman)
Reputable Member