influenced songwriting

20 Posts
12 Users
0 Likes
 chad
(@chad)
Trusted Member
Topic starter  

Does anyone in this forum agree that your songwriting abilities become more creative when influenced my any mind altering substances? or is this just a rumor? i've heard some of the biggest rock stars mention the use of drugs or alcohol simply for better songwriting?

chad

(@nicktorres)
Illustrious Member

I found that when I wrote anything under the influence it was inspired, until I sobered up...then sadly, yet magically it all somehow turned to crap.

I don't think there is any truth to it. Try getting something sensible out of someone who is wasted.

....and believe me, I was an expert on the matter.

ReplyQuote
(@lotto-king)
Prominent Member

hey chad

yeah have tried it when been drinking not very pretty didn't make any sense add to that the massive hang over and the people that I upset during it .

My answer is no it does not , you might think it sounds good at the time but honestly it only sounds good to you and nobody else

cheers

Aghhhh

Not only am I a senior citizen

I'm now a bloody senior member

Are you people trying to tell me I'm old or what ?

over 700 posts ( I really do need to get out more )

ReplyQuote
(@scratchmonkey)
Honorable Member

or is this just a rumor?
yup, it is. of the same caliber as the perennial "I had bigfoot's baby" or "I was abducted by Aliens" rumors.
i've heard some of the biggest rock stars mention the use of drugs or alcohol simply for better songwriting?
I've heard others say they'll fire anyone in their band they find out is doing drugs. On the spot. Ted Nugent comes to mind.

If you're writing songs, you need to use your mind. If you need to use your mind, it's pretty much best not to alter it.

-- Scratch 8)

"...if heartaches were commercials, we'd all be on TV" -- John Prine

ReplyQuote
(@lostbeggining)
Reputable Member