Notifications
Clear all

My first song - Help!

4 Posts
3 Users
0 Likes
(@jimsea789)
Topic starter  

When I first started playing guitar my main goal was to be able to write a love song for my wife (well, that and to play "Stairway to Heaven"). I found out that it's not as easy as I thought. I realize that the lyrics are pretty simple, but what can I say, I love my wife's smile! I'm pretty new to all this so any feedback would really help. Thanks.
Here it is:

When You Smile at Me

I wake up
The sun comes shining in
I get up
Gonna start it all again
Then you stir
Another day begins
Then you smile at me

I reach out
Hold your hand in mine
I hold on
You kiss me one more time
And I know
This day will be just fine
When you smile at me

CHORUS
When you smile
All my skies are blue
When you smile
I just want to be with you
I close my eyes
Just to dream of you
When you smile at me

Go to work
The pressure builds all day
And I pray
I get through each delay
Cuz I know
I've just got to get away
To see you smile at me

CHORUS

BRIDGE
I don't know
where I'd be without you
Looking in the mirror
the doubt comes shining through
I just want to be
The man you see in me

As night falls
We slowly climb the stairs
In your arms
I leave behind my cares
Cuz I know
You answer all my prayers

When you smile at me
(When you smile at me)

I recorded it (another first) so you could hear what it sounds like.
http://jimsea789.dmusic.com/
Leo Kottke once said that his voice "sounded like goose farts on a muggy day." After hearing myself sing, I know what he means. Oh well, the vocals are what they are...

(@dneck)
Prominent Member

Hey the guitar sounds nice and steady. Its pretty simple but for a first song its good, my first song was way worse haha. It sounds good nice job.

"And above all, respond to all questions regarding a given song's tonal orientation in the following manner: Hell, it don't matter just kick it off!"
-Chris Thile

ReplyQuote
(@jimsea789)
Topic starter