Clear all

Nineteen Eighty-Four

9 Posts
4 Users
0 Likes
(@amazing_ness)
Estimable Member
Topic starter  

As an aspiring young musician, I want to record an album. I am also very fond of literature, and I am currently reading 1984, by George Orwell.

I've decided to combine them, and do an album on 1984.

Would this be considered copyright infringement? I'm not sure, but I think it would be legal because 1984 is a book, not a musical piece, and could be said that I am not violating copyright because it exists as a book and not music, but it would be illegal because I am taking the plotline and morphing it into something else.

Help please.

(Ps.) I live in Canada.

Hey.

(@alangreen)

The whole question could be a bit of a minefield. Let's strip it down to basic basics.

Is this a commercial project - meaning are you going for a distribution deal once you've written the album.

Will the album follow the story from the book?

If the answer is Yes and Yes, then you should talk to the George Orwell estate about a license. Be prepared to stump up an obscene amount of cash for it up front, and be prepared for it costing a slice of your profit for every copy sold.

If the answer to the second question is No, then the assumption is you're using the book as inspiration only and not reflecting the story in the songs (a song called "Thought Police" but banging on about Tony Blair (British PM), for example) would not require a license.

In between is a very grey area, inhabited by lawyers, leeches, parasites and other lowlife out to make money off the back of someone else's idea. Tread carefully.

Best,

A :-)

"Be good at what you can do" - Fingerbanger"
I have always felt that it is better to do what is beautiful than what is 'right'" - Eliot Fisk
Wedding music and guitar lessons in Essex. Listen at: http://www.rollmopmusic.co.uk

ReplyQuote
(@amazing_ness)
Estimable Member
Topic starter  

Well, actually, the answers are "No" and "Yes"