Clear all

Question on sites

5 Posts
4 Users
0 Likes
Country
(@country)
Topic starter  

Hey, I got a question, I don't know if it was covered somewhere else but I thought I would ask. I have been reading online articles that say sites that host tabs - even those which members have figure out are illegal, are they really? I know you guys have some on here but also have a disclaimer on the index thing. I am just curious because I am still learning by ear and I am not good enough yet to go totally by ear. I am making improvements but still rely on a site from time to time.

Any thoughts?

Elecktrablue
(@elecktrablue)
Famed Member

If you take the tablature from a book, like "Beatles Fingerpicking" for example, and copy it exactly as it is in that copyrighted book, or if you scan the pages of a book, then, yes, it is illegal. You cannot "copy, reprint or duplicate" copyrighted material. Most tab sites don't have tabs exactly as they were written by the people who wrote them (except in the case of material posted by the artists/writers/composers themselves where express permission is given). They are generally one individuals interpretation of how they think the song goes. Some are pretty close (but some are horribly wrong, too!!!).

The songs in our database are only available to our members and were posted only by our members and the majority of them are the work of our members who took the time to sit and tab out each song as they play it (not necessarily as it was originally written).

Hope that helps a bit! :D

..· ´¨¨)) -:¦:-
¸.·´ .·´¨¨))
((¸¸.·´ .·´
-:¦:- ((¸¸.·´ -:¦:- Elecktrablue -:¦:-

"Don't wanna ride no shootin' star. Just wanna play on the rhythm guitar." Emmylou Harris, "Rhythm Guitar" from "The Ballad of Sally Rose"

ReplyQuote
Country
(@country)
Topic starter