Notifications
Clear all

Songwriting book

3 Posts
3 Users
0 Likes
(@ladyc)
Topic starter  

Hi, I am interested in writing songs for the guitar. I have been playing classical guitar for about tens years and started with accompaniment guitar a couple of years ago. I studied 'solfege' (I guess it is called music theory in English?) a while ago and don't remember most of it. I am interested in writing some songs for the guitar or as well as better understanding how songs are written and why those chords go together. Does anyone know of a good book that I should buy?

(@noteboat)
Illustrious Member

It's called 'solfege' here too - but it's sight singing rather than theory.

There are lots of books on songwriting. But I haven't yet found a single book that covers all the bases well. You can break songwriting down into lyrics, melody, and harmony. Many books on songwriting try to cover not only all three of these, but also aspects of the music business (copyrights, licensing, getting a publisher, etc.). They end up just scratching the surface of each area, and you end up not actually learning very much. So I'd go for multiple books that cover narrower parts of writing.

My favorite book on lyric writing is "Lyrics, lyrics, lyrics and How to Write Them" by Jack Smalley. it might be tough to find, as it's nearly 30 years old... but it breaks down the process into the basic story telling aspects: plot, setting, etc. You'll also want a decent rhyming dictionary, and probably a thesaurus for the lyric writing part. It also looks at several 'standard' types of lyrics. The examples might be old and/or cheesy, but the basic ideas can be found in almost all songs... couple this with analysis of current songs and you'll leran a lot.