Clear all

12 strings - are they all pigs?

14 Posts
14 Users
0 Likes
(@adocaster)
Topic starter  

where pig = "guitar of awful action".

i like the sound, i like it lots. my friend has one and he doesnt have it set up, and its virtually unplayable in my eyes (ears). the intonation is nasty and having two strings to put down makes for lots of bum notes because they would rather have your finger fall between them than be fretted.

is this the way with all twelvers or is this one just a lemon? can they be sorted to play as easily as a 6? i'd like to imagine so prior to getting one of my own.

thoughts?

Adam.

(@musenfreund)
Illustrious Member

I'm no expert, but I'd say your friend seems to have a difficult 12 string. I've only played around with a friend's, but it wasn't at all as you describe it.

Well we all shine on--like the moon and the stars and the sun.
-- John Lennon

ReplyQuote
(@vic-lewis-vl)
Illustrious Member

I bought one back in March, sounded OK in the shop....got it home, messed around with the action, tuned it down to DGCFAD...thouht I'd use a capo on 2nd fret...had to buy another capo, my shubb wasn't wide enough...so I bought a Dunlop trigger....but it sounded horrible...

I've not touched it for a while, but next time I go to town, taking it with me...see if a guitar tech can set it up for me....

I'm seriously hoping this one isn't a lemon...but if it is, ah well, I've got plenty more toys to play with....

Vic

"Sometimes the beauty of music can help us all find strength to deal with all the curves life can throw us." (D. Hodge.)

ReplyQuote
(@alangreen)

I have an old Eko Ranger 12-string which I bought in 1978, laminate top; just come back from having new machine heads fitted. Sounds seriously awesome and playing it's a dream.

Go for light strings - mine has come back with a light set of Martins fitted. You can buy sets of strings specially for 12-string guitars

Best,

A :-)

"Be good at what you can do" - Fingerbanger"