Skip to content
3 guitars together ...

Notifications
Clear all

3 guitars together = mush. How to improve the group dynamic?

45 Posts
22 Users
0 Likes
(@handelfan)
Eminent Member

Worship bands are always a sensitive situation. Since plenty of musical ideas have already been offered, I hope I can offer some interpersonal/management advice:

You have volunteer players. You can't ask or expect the same things from them that you can ask from a professional player (though I have heard some really first-rate players in church bands who would leave me in the dust...) I have had people who were absolute beginners at their instruments, as well. I've personally had to train two bass players and a drummer over the past few years - and no they didn't get fed up and leave :lol: they were folks who moved out of town - two for military, one for work.

What I always go back to when I suggest changes is the purpose of what you do in a church band - leading worship. When music is imperfect or mushy, or just sorta "off" - the congregation picks up on that, even those without trained ears sometimes, and it distracts their focus. So I would come from a standpoint of "Hey guys, when we sound bad, we aren't effectively leading worship, we're actually getting in the way."

And of course, in a church band, you have to remember to treat your musicians with respect and care.....I mean, it's a church band after all, not the music business!

So yes, someone needs to take charge and assign things, but do so with tact, compliments, and respect. Tough job. But eventually you will get into a groove, everyone will know their role, and you'll be a well-oiled machine in no time.

I am where my mind put me.

ReplyQuote
(@aleholder)
Trusted Member