Clear all

A Chord Problem :-

13 Posts
10 Users
0 Likes
(@ph0nage)
Reputable Member
Topic starter  

So I've been playing for a while - and like to think I'm doing pretty good for the time spent. I'm been playing harder solos and have pretty smooth sounding barre chords and such.

Anyways, one chord has been a thorn in my side ever since i started playing - the open A chord. I've been trying to play this chord with 3 fingers - respectively DGB strings. My fingers are too large and i always have one finger that isn't where it should be, causing it to sound out of tune.

How do you guys play these? Anyone else with this problem? I figured that it's time that i should fix this.

(@twistedlefty)
Famed Member

more often then not i bar it with one finger like this.

i can do this with all my fingers but my pinky.

#4491....

ReplyQuote
(@ph0nage)
Reputable Member
Topic starter  

that is a very good idea. Not sure why i didn't think to do that. Thanks! i'll give it a shot

ReplyQuote
(@minotaur)
Noble Member

The bar works because if you mute the high E, it's no matter because you have an E in the chord on the D string. Another possibility is fingering it this way middle finger = D, ring finger = G, pinky = B.

It is difficult to answer when one does not understand the question.

ReplyQuote
(@jwmartin)
Noble Member

The bar works because if you mute the high E, it's no matter because you have an E in the chord on the D string. Another possibility is fingering it this way middle finger = D, ring finger = G, pinky = B.

That is the "correct" way (middle/ring/pinky) so you can do A style barre chords up the neck. That's how my grandfather plays it and how he always told me I should learn it. Yet, I still play it like TwistedLefty pictured. :oops:

Bass player for Undercover

ReplyQuote
(@minotaur)
Noble Member

That is the "correct" way (middle/ring/pinky) so you can do A style barre chords up the neck.