Notifications
Clear all

a little direction

5 Posts
5 Users
0 Likes
(@jbryhe)
Topic starter  

I'm a self taught guitarist of 10 years. There are many days where I feel like I've playing a week. I just began giving lessons to my youngest sister and realized all the information in my mind is not making it to her. I was wondering if anyone out there could help me with a regiment that I could use to get her going. I started with some strum patterns and chord changes, but I was never any good at practicing scales so I don't know how to get her started on that. Any help would be appreciated.

(@dogbite)
Illustrious Member

there is nothing more rewarding and inspiring than learning a song. pick out a song with a few chords and teach her that.
once she can play it easily, break the song and chords down. name the notes, etc...
then it may make more sense to her because of context has been changed.

http://www.soundclick.com/bands/pagemusic.cfm?bandID=644552
http://www.soundclick.com/couleerockinvaders

ReplyQuote
(@blueline)
Noble Member

there is nothing more rewarding and inspiring than learning a song. pick out a song with a few chords and teach her that.
once she can play it easily, break the song and chords down. name the notes, etc...
then it may make more sense to her because of context has been changed.

+1

I think that dogbite's advise is a great approach. I'm currently teaching my 11 yr old daughter. Once she gets a few basic chord structures down, I am moving directly to a song.

Teamwork- A few harmless flakes working together can unleash an avalanche of destruction.

ReplyQuote
(@coloradofenderbender)
Noble Member