Clear all

A teacher who would like some advice

13 Posts
5 Users
0 Likes
(@fleaaaaaa)
Prominent Member
Topic starter  

Hey everyone in guitarnoise world..... I am a guitar teacher, have taught for a while. I have had a few students struggling with chords that stretch them, I used to have one student who found powerchords a stretch but all the music she loved required them. She never practiced them because she hated doing them!

Another student I have now can do a few basic chords - E A and D and E minor and Aminor. However I tried to get him into doing G and C (because there are many songs that follow a G C Em D pattern) however he found these a stretch and very difficult.

Now since I am on a board where teachers are all around, how can I get them to acheive these new goals? Is it simply a case of motivating them to pratice more or are there any hints or tips I could give them?

together we stand, divided we fall..........

(@greybeard)
Illustrious Member

Have you considered the capo option?

Start with the capo as far up the neck as necessary for them to feel comfortable with the chords. Have them practice until they have ho problems, then move the capo a fret or two closer to the nut. Repeat until no capo is needed.

I started with nothing - and I've still got most of it left.
Did you know that the word "gullible" is not in any dictionary?
Greybeard's Pages
My Articles & Reviews on GN

ReplyQuote
(@alangreen)

I like to give my students a song that contains the chords they need to work on so they have something to compare against how they're doing. G-Em-C-D is a prime case in point - it's Brown Eyed Girl by Van the Man. Throw in a B7 to that collection and you've got the Alexandra Burke version of Leonard Cohen's Hallelujah (the one Jeff Buckley covered.) All nice open position chords.

The best solution to your student who can do A, D and E is find a song in A that changes key to G halfway through. Good luck.