Clear all

Am I ready to teach guitar?

4 Posts
4 Users
0 Likes
(@deathshade)
Eminent Member
Topic starter  

Ok so basically I might quit my current job soon, and actually my mother just opened my eyes to a potential career option for me: teaching guitar. I've never seriously considered it before, but seeing how much my hate for my current job (at a pizza parlor, if you're wondering) is increasing day by day, I'm now seriously considering the option. I just want to know I'm if ready to teach guitar.

I've been playing for like 10 years, but I'll be honest, I've lost motivation lately and haven't played in close to a year (not because I don't like guitar, but it was mostly depression to be honest). I want to go back to playing so very much, and I'm hoping that by teaching guitar I'll get back the motivation to go back to playing and possibly start taking lessons again myself. My friend teaches at a local music store, and she told me they're looking for someone to teach electric guitar (unfortunately, I've never spent the time to learn classical guitar/fingerpicking, so I can't teach that).

Here's a little list about me and my guitar/music skills:

• First of all, I have pretty decent technique.

• I have decent knowledge of music theory. I know the basic scales and modes, pentatonics, chords, natural and harmonic minor, and some exotic scales like the half/whole dimished scale (though I never use it much while playing, have only ever heard it played once in a metal song).

• I can't read much music. I have the basic knowledge, so I'm able to read a music sheet if I take my time. However, I can read the rhythmic part of it pretty well. I do read tablature however. I've always mostly played by ear, so I never invested too much time in learning sheet music.

• I've tried teaching some of my friends, and they've always asked me why I don't teach guitar. I guess the reason was I've never thought I'm a good teacher, but apparently I'm wrong.