Clear all

Ambidextrous

31 Posts
23 Users
0 Likes
(@anonymous)
Illustrious Member
Topic starter  

Has anyone ever wondered why a right handed person feels more comfortable fretting with their left? Doesn't your left hand do more work? I'm left handed atleast that's what I would tell a person because I write with my left hand, but I play a right handed guitar. When I started playing 10 years ago I didn't even think about turning it around. Hell, I coundn't play either direction so what difference would it of made. I'm pretty sure if someone handed me a left handed guitar back then and didn't tell me it was the wrong way I would be playing it that way today. Maybe, maybe not being that everyday objects like scissors I use my right hand(although if someone would of handed me left handed scissors...LOL.)

Just an observation. :D

geoo
(@geoo)
Famed Member

I was thinking about this very thing the other day. My son is 11 and he is left handed but he plays my guitar (I am right handed). Now, so far he only plays the Smoke on the Water line but he looks comfortable doing it.

“The hardest thing in life is to know which bridge to cross and which to burn” - David Russell (Scottish classical Guitarist. b.1942)

ReplyQuote
(@pappajohn)
Honorable Member

I don't know that the fretting hand does more work. True it makes all the different shapes necessary to finger the chords, and it moves up and down the neck a bit, but the other hand is responsible for maintaining rythym and for precise picking. I think that would be far easier to master with the dominant hand than the, er, sub-dominant (as it were).

-- John

"Hip woman walking on a moving floor, tripping on the escalator.
There's a man in the line and she's blowin' his mind, thinking that he's already made her."

'Coming into Los Angeles' - Arlo Guthrie

ReplyQuote
(@ricochet)
Illustrious Member