Notifications
Clear all

Any classical players out there?

7 Posts
6 Users
0 Likes
(@rayjaytray)
Topic starter  

I'm relatively new to the classical guitar, but I came across a Goya GG-30 and I've been playing it a lot lately. I've been running into problems when I change the strings.

I've been playing guitar awhile so I can tune and change the strings easily, but it seems like when I do the 1,2, and 3 strings constantly out of tune. (they take a significant time to break in it seems.)

Whenever I was putting the new strings on I started with the low strings and got all three of them on (the metal ones) while leaving the old nylons on the guitar...tuned it up, and it sounded great. Do any classical players just change out the metal strings (EAD) and leave the bottom nylons on (GBE), because it seems like the nylons have a longer life.

Anyone have any special methods or tips when re stringing a classical to make it sound great? It seems like new strings I put on this guitar give it too bright a sound and it sounds funny for awhile.

(@demoetc)
Noble Member

Yes, a lot of classical players just change out the bass strings (the metal wound ones) because the trebles take a while to get stretched out nicely, and just when they're perfect, it's time, usually, to change the basses - which is why D'Addario does (or used to) put out a 9 string set - 3 trebles and two sets of the basses.

When I change mine I tune to pitch and pull the strings upward from the fretboard a little bit - about an inch or so at the 12th fret, then less at the 5th or 7th fret, and the same up around the soundhole. Prestretching some guys call it, but the trebles always take longer to stretch out and keep pitch. Sometimes I'll tune them up a half step higher than normal and leave them like that a day or two.

Hope this helps.

ReplyQuote
(@rayjaytray)
Topic starter