0 Likes
11.1 K Views
(@takamineprincess)
Eminent Member
Topic starter  

Is anyone self taught?

How long have you been playing?
How well do you think you play?
Have you ever considered taking lessons? Why/why not?

I'm just trying to get a feel for where I should be, since i've never taken a lesson. I've been playing 10 months, and I would say I can't do much, lol. I know a few whole songs as well as bits and pieces of dozens of others. I couldn't tell you a thing about music theory and mostly play by ear. All I need is to know the chords and then I just listen to the songs until I get it. I've never taken lessons because I can't afford it, but I really feel like I'm not progressing as fast as I would like. I try to practice at least an hour a day, but there are rare exceptions.

(@preacher)
Estimable Member

I am self taught... if you dont count my mom teaching me the C, D, and G chords when I was three. I turn 16 this year, and Ive been strumming guitar since I was three, but only the past couple of years started playing and developing style. I'm not sure how good I am. I can play a few Hendrix tunes, a few Clapton tunes, and from what my father says "the main riff of every rock n roll song writtin" :D I've played in front of a few audiences and they seemed to dig the sound. I did want to take lessons when I first started playing lead, but my parents said I would have to pay for the lessons myself. So that was out the window. :lol: I'm homeschooled, so music is a HUGE part of my life. I usually practice anywhere from 2 to 3 hours a day.

I play the guitar, I taught myself how to play the guitar, which was a bad decision... because I didn't know how to play it, so I was a sh***y teacher. I would never have went to me. -Mitch Hedberg

ReplyQuote
(@joehempel)
Famed Member

Yes, but by self taught I mean not by a one on one teacher, I've abused this site for 2 years now :lol: :lol:

How long have you been playing? -- 2 years