Clear all

Anyone Self taught?

51 Posts
43 Users
0 Likes
11.1 K Views
(@vic-lewis-vl)
Illustrious Member

had a couple of lessons 35 years ago - when I was 17 - then gave it up as a bad job, didn't understand a damn thing the so-called teacher was teaching. Learned a lot from a Beatles songbook - then gave it all up as a bad job. Started playing again in the late 90's - knew a few chords, played 'em over and over again till about 2004 - then I discovered GN: Found the lessons page, found there was more to life than just majors and minors, found I'd suddenly developed a thirst for knowledge - and found I took to guitar like a duck to water.

Never had formal lessons since way back when, but since I discovered GN, I decided I was determined to play this damn plank properly. And that's what's kept me going since - sheer determination. I'm about average/decent on the rhythm guitar now, still pretty mediocre on lead - but I'm still trying REALLY HARD to improve. And I am still improving....I can FEEL the improvement whenever I put my hands on a fretboard.

And - there's still room for improvement - and probably always will be. I can live with that.

So yeah, I'm mostly self-taught - with the aid of some good lessons - but really, it's more to do with your own will, and your own determination to succed, than who you take lessons from. I could have found a good guitar teacher - but I found GN, and everything in the last few years that's contributed to my growth as a guitarist (and, as an aside, to finally growing up!) has come from here....I could have found another guitar site (I did find a good tab site, with some useful applications like chord-building etc first time out!) that would have taught me as much, but probably not in the same time span, and definitely NOT another site that would have introduced me to so many new friends....and I've got a LOT of friends here, who I'm proud to know!