Clear all

Anyone Self taught?

51 Posts
43 Users
0 Likes
11.1 K Views
(@sgincyqx)
Honorable Member

I am self taught, for the most part. Took lessons for a year and I'm glad I did.

Been playing around 5 years, I like the way I play for the most part (I just finished Classical Gas) and it's something I'm glad I took up. Music has taken me farther than I ever hoped it would.

Ewan McGregor: I said, "Eve, I want you to look after my wedding ring while I'm away," and she started to cry and I said, "Eve. Eve, I can't wear my ring or I won't get laid on the trip!"

ReplyQuote
(@zepeda91)

Im Self Taught, And New to this forum. in ten months i was sloppy and slow, im nineteen now and been playing ten years And i blow away anyone in the little town of Ste. Genevieve MO!!.. i i'd try devoting more time like five hours a day till your fingers are numb if i were you.,. if you dont have that much time then just learn every note on every string and all the basic chords by heart and you'll be set. now that im lookin at it that sounds kinda hard. lol Good Luck And Keep Jammin

X.C.Z

ReplyQuote
(@anonymous)
Illustrious Member

i've been playing 18 years. i've learned from many sources, including lessons, which i never enjoyed or got much from. i'm good. i have no plans on taking lessons in the future.

ReplyQuote
(@bigfoot21075)

How long have you been playing? 33 years
How well do you think you play? Eh
Have you ever considered taking lessons? Why/why not? No - just do not like the idea

I have been playing a long time, i know a fair amount of songs that are mostly chords and strum. I know some harder riff based tunes like SRV Lenny, but I am a slave to TAB as i do not understand chord structures and such. I just recently bough Griff Hamlins Blues Guitar Unleashed DVD set and are working through it. THAT is helping a TON. I am finally starting to understand the fret board. This little bit ok knowledge has brought the fun back into guitar for me.

ReplyQuote
(@marcmm)