Notifications
Clear all

bad habits!!

12 Posts
7 Users
0 Likes
(@jaguar)
Topic starter  

hey, i was wondering if anyone had any sugestions on finger exersises or exersises in general that have help with there playing and also scales that they use the most, ive been playing for four years but i feel my im getting in bad habbits and i need to train myself to get back into good ones and i only know one scale but when i learn new ones i dont really seem to stick to practicing them and then forget them cos i dont really use them. i need to kick myself in the but! haha
chears dan :)

(@jersey-jack)
Estimable Member

Well, I know how you feel, Dan, but if the problem is that you don't keep with the new scales/exercises you learn, then I'm not sure how new scales/exercises will do much good! In other words, your worst habit seems more to do with follow-through on your practicing, not with technical aspects of guitar playing.

I think a new year's resolution would be just the thing! Resolve to learn a new scale and then stick with it until it's as familiar as the first one. Rinse and repeat! And again!

The key to nailing these scales is to use them---either through some extended soloing over backing tracks or, more radically, through using them to write a song or two. 8)

Good Luck!

ReplyQuote
(@almann1979)
Noble Member

To be honest i only know a very small number of scales - basic major, minor, their pentatonics and the blues scale. In fact at the minute i dont want to know anymore, i want to become as fluent as possible with those scales i know and be able to use them/switch between them with ease. i expect this to take years.

"I like to play that guitar. I have to stare at it while I'm playing it because I'm not very good at playing it."
Noel Gallagher (who took the words right out of my mouth)

ReplyQuote
(@alangreen)