Barring while playing Scales?

9 Posts
7 Users
0 Likes
(@musus)
Trusted Member
Topic starter  

Hello.

I've been playing for a couple of years now, but I only just got my first electric guitar a couple of weeks ago. I also bought a book for lead guitar. I've managed to master a few slow solos. I'm quite happy with my technique as far as bending and basic vibrato. My main concern right now is building speed.

From my book I've been messing around with loads of riffs. An example is the riff below. At first when I practiced it I had to barre the 5th fret to get it anywhere close to tempo. I especiallly needed to bar for the 3rd and 4th bars for the pull-offs.

When I showed it to my teacher he told me never to barre when playing a riff like that because it will slow me down considerably. I took his word for it, until the last few days because I saw a few online videos with guitarists playing really fast drills while barring a fret.

So I guess what I'm asking for is a second opinion. I know it takes time to build up speed but I'm afraid to start bad habits that will hinder my development.

E:------------------------------
B:------------------------------
G:----------------5-------------
D:----------5h7-------7---------
A:---5h7------------------------

G:------------5-----------------
D:----5h7-------5---------------
A:------------------------------

E:--5---------------------------
B:-----8p5----5-----------------
G:----------7----7p5------------
D:--------------------7---------

G:---5--------------------------
D:-------7p5---7----------------

By now I've mastered this riff both with and without barring, but now I'm stuck on much faster and complicated riffs.

Thanks.

"Hey Hey My My ... Rock and Roll can never die" Neil Young

(@dogbite)
Illustrious Member

I think I will agree with your teacher for this example (only).