Clear all

becoming a studio musician

22 Posts
14 Users
0 Reactions
(@anonymous)
Illustrious Member
Topic starter  

I've been a studio guitarist since 1967, but I really can't add anything because you got some really good answers and no really bad ones.

http://www.guitarforsongwriters.com

ReplyQuote
(@hueseph)
Noble Member

Well I know a couple of studio musicians and I think a real key is to be able to play what the client wants. Understanding what they want to hear. Sight reading is a definite asset. You have to be non partial and you can't make judgements on the what you hear. All you have to do is fit in just right. The way they want it. You can't go playing blistering solo's where they don't belong. You can't overcomplicate a simple song. One of these guys is a rocker but most of the work out there is for country and easy listening or Karaoke backing tracks. So y'know he just has to grin and bear it. Even if the music sucks (in your opoinion.) you have to do your best to emulate the clients intentions. There's my two bits.

https://soundcloud.com/hue-nery/hue-audio-sampler

ReplyQuote
(@rotting_corpse)

Thanks Guys
bin really helpful
working on my skills
know i'll get there someday

:wink:

ReplyQuote
(@racer-y)
Estimable Member

Hi.
LOL I bailed on Being a session player. there was just not enough challenge to it.... Nah, I'm an Artist... When a musician "pays
his Dues" well that's just Bus fare for us lol.
No I'm being sarcastic. I'm not serioius at all about that

It was posted earlier that in session work, musical ability gets taken for
granted.
It's the same in my job.
I mean if I wasn't "talented" (more like works cheap)
I wouldn't have the position to begin with.
I'm not anywhere near to being a professional musician,
But I do know a job is a job is a job.
to excel in that job, whatever it may be, you have to be up to speed all the time.
You need to know how to navigate through politicts - know who's