Notifications
Clear all

Bend and Vibrato

40 Posts
9 Users
0 Likes
(@anonymous)
Illustrious Member

well, like i said before, back when i was rockclimbing, i could support my full body weight with grips that were such that my hands were on an upward slant to the verticle, like a / shape, where i would be on the left. and i've seen people that had done it for years hold on to grips that looked like they were barely there at all, and hang on like it was nothing. i can hang onto a nice grip with 3 fingers for a good while, which means each finger is supporting 60+ pounds. so although it's axial, which is obviously not the same, it is within the same realm, and i really believe that one pound is within reason.

ReplyQuote
(@axissupersport)
Eminent Member

I agree with Ande. You guys are picking this apart WAY too much and it's ending up being too complicated for the younger players to understand. I've been playing for 50 years and it's too much for ME to grasp.

ReplyQuote
(@anonymous)
Illustrious Member

ok, here is a simple summary of this thread:

there's back and forth vibrato. you can go pretty fast, but it's fairly subtle. it's used more in classical music. there's an argument over whether this goes sharp and flat of the original note, or just sharp. i say both.

there's up and down vibrato. this can be pushed up towards the high strings or pulled down towards the low strings, or you can do it bb king style and turn your wrist very quickly like turning a doorknob or making the "ehh, either way" or "comme ci comme ca" or "mas o menos" hand gesture with your finger being a pivot. this is used more in modern music, and you can get much wider vibrato, but like it's been pointed out, only pulls the note sharp.

you can also bend a note up and then put vibrato on it, and with that, you can have it go both sharp and flat of the note you're going for.