Clear all

Blues question, been bugging me for awhile

25 Posts
14 Users
0 Likes
(@michhill8)
Honorable Member
Topic starter  

Ok, I'll be doing my own research on this as well, but I thought I would ask you guys too. My question deals with the blues, not so much the rhythm, but the lead. When the solo comes, how do you pick the right notes to solo over the chords. I know you can play most notes when there is a chord background. BUT, most blues players would pick notes that, even without a rhythm section, would give the feel of the chord changes. For instance, they play a little lick that has an E flavor, then when the chord progesses to A, a corresponding lick sounding like A would ensue. So on and so on. And, I notice they stay in the same scale (with some exceptions). Hopefully you guys understand my question/concern, so I think if we work together we can nail this one. Thanks.

Thanks Dudes!
Keep on Rockin'

Pat

(@fah-q)
Estimable Member

im new to the blues but if i understand the question (and i think i do) for solos or leads i normally play in the scale that the chord is in

ReplyQuote
(@clazon)
Honorable Member

You can make most things bluesy if you learn a few of the lead rhythms and then use notes from the pent minor scale or major blues scale.

"Today is what it means to be young..."

(Radiohead, RHCP, Jimi Hendrix - the big 3)

ReplyQuote
(@michhill8)
Honorable Member
Topic starter  

Yes, that is one way. So with that method we would be playing 3 different scales, based on the I, IV, and V. But, some of these bluesmen (and women) keep in the scale of the key, or the I. So blues in E would be the E minor pentatonic most commonly.

Thanks Dudes!
Keep on Rockin'

Pat

ReplyQuote
(@michhill8)
Honorable Member
Topic starter