Clear all

Breaking out of metal.

9 Posts
7 Users
0 Likes
(@sagaciouskjb2)
Estimable Member
Topic starter  

Well, I've been playing around a year and a half. I started learning playing metal, as most of my influences for guitar were metal, and most of my friends played metal, so it was easier to pick up. Lately, though, I'm starting to question whether or not metal is really my style of music.

When I play metal, I don't feel like I'm ever being very creative. It seems like any old standard ped tone and powerchords, with a random breakout into a lick will do to make a metal lick. When I start to be creative with it, however, I generally tend to make things that I like the sound of, but are whoely unimpressive on a whole to my friends. This, of course, makes it difficult to write music with them, as they want nothing to do with what it was I made.

I can't really give a clear word for the type of music that I would like to play. But, it's mostly acoustic harmony type music, finger picked and strummed. I guess a few examples could be Hotel California, Bron-Y-Aur Stomp, White Moutain Side... But usually what I think of in my head sounds a lot more different than those.

Of course the step to this, would be to start learning chord shapes, etc. I find myself trapped in convention, though. I've messed a little with creating my own chord shapes, but I always find that I don't like the sounds of them; the same goes for some of the other chord shapes you can find in a chord encyclopedia.

Now, a lot of people's idea of playing guitar is to just play, and find a sound that you like. However, what I find frustrating, is that I have a sound in my head that I need to learn how to tranfer onto the guitar. No one seems to be able to tell me how to do that, though.

Does anyone understand what I mean? And if so, can they help teach me how I can pull something out of my head (the sounds, chords, rythyms, that I can't visualize on a fretboard) onto a guitar?

(@kingpatzer)