Clear all

can phrasing be taught??

25 Posts
14 Users
0 Likes
(@almann1979)
Noble Member
Topic starter  

the opening lead guitar on "still got the blues" by gary moore, or the bohemian rhapsody solo - everybody knows them and could sing along to them. However, neither of these are considered technically challenging to play, but the way they sound is superb.

can guitarists learn to phrase their lead work like this - or is it just upto the imagination??

i ask because i cant - is it because i lack the the imagination, or am i missing something from my practice??

is there a certain amount of theory behind making strong melodic phrases??

"I like to play that guitar. I have to stare at it while I'm playing it because I'm not very good at playing it."
Noel Gallagher (who took the words right out of my mouth)

cnev
(@cnev)
Famed Member

I'm sure it can be taught and besides the usual practice, practice, practice I'm not sure it's just imagination. At the end of the day you need to be able to play what you hear in your head and that means in real time so besides the practice you need to really internalize those sounds and be able to replicate them immediately on the spot. Not the easiest thing to do but with time it will come.

Well I say that because I hope it'll come, because I can't do it either but then I haven't spent enough time doing the things I've just described above.

"It's all about stickin it to the man!"
It's a long way to the top if you want to rock n roll!

ReplyQuote
(@davidhodge)

You can learn, and a big part of the answer is in your own post:
...everybody knows them and could sing along to them...

For starters, take a song you know well and are working on. Don't have a guitar in hand. See if you can sing a phrase in one of the spaces where the vocalist isn't singing. Doesn't have to be the most stunning or complicated thing, just a short melodic phrase that you like.