cheating (ish)

36 Posts
17 Users
0 Likes
(@almann1979)
Noble Member
Topic starter  

cheers guys - lots of food for thought there. much appreciated :D

"I like to play that guitar. I have to stare at it while I'm playing it because I'm not very good at playing it."
Noel Gallagher (who took the words right out of my mouth)

ReplyQuote
 cnev
(@cnev)
Famed Member

manti,

I have to disagree with you about what learning songs can do. That's where I think we differ. Learning a new song for me is more than just a new riff/technique. It's hopefully learning to play difficult pieces that I wouldn't have been able to before.

Doing exercises are great and they are a tool but at the end of the day you need to make music playing some repetitive scales over and over isn't necessarily going to make you play anything better.

To me that's where the learning a song note for note comes in. I don't do it because I think that's the only way to play a song but it's te only way for me to know if I am making progress. If there was a fast solo in a song and because it was fast I changed some notes and played something different what does that get me? This is where the guitarist crutch comes in and they call it "Making it my own" To me that's a bunch of crappola, if you could whip out solos' like Yngwie they'd be doing it, when they can't they say they are putting their own spin on it.

If you were taking any type of guitar exam or anything like that do you think you be able to substitute different notes form the score you've been given? Of course not you are made to play it exactly as it's written.

"It's all about stickin it to the man!"
It's a long way to the top if you want to rock n roll!

ReplyQuote
(@wes-inman)
Illustrious Member

Chris