Clear all

College

3 Posts
2 Users
0 Likes
(@kc13088)
Trusted Member
Topic starter  

I'm only a sophomore in high school but I know it's never to early to think about my future plans. Can anyone suggest any good music colleges in the area of Pittsburgh, Cleveland, Buffalo?

On a second note, I play guitar and bass, but I also play alto saxophone. My plan is to become a music teacher. I would really like to make guitar my priority, but I know that saxophone would be more applicable if I were to teach in a high school. Is plain old guitar even possible in college, or would I have to learn to play classical? The problem is I love playing my electric more than anything in the world, and I'm afraid that taking up classical guitar or working on my sax more would only be discouraging if I don't have time to play my electric anymore. Advice??

So I guess I really have no idea what my plans are anyways. Where should I go, and what should I do?? :? :? :?

(@noteboat)
Illustrious Member

A bit east of Buffalo, in Rochester, is the Eastman School of Music. It ranks up there with Julliard as one of the finest in the world.

If you want to major in plectrum guitar, your choices are fairly limited. There's Berklee in Boston, and the technical schools like GIT; otherwise, you'll study classical (which also means auditioning on classical, so you'd pretty much have to start now).

I faced the same dilemma when I went off to college - I couldn't afford to live in Boston then, so Beklee was out... but I also played percussion, so I chose that as my principal instrument.

If you want to teach, you should give a little thought to where... to teach privately, a technical school will be ok, but it will limit your career options outside of performance and private instruction. If you want to teach in public or private schools, you'll probably want to study music education.