Clear all

Do I have an illness?

18 Posts
14 Users
0 Likes
(@the-dali)
Noble Member
Topic starter  

Ok... I understand GAS and all its symptoms, but I think I might have an acute case of BASGU... buying and selling guitars uncontrollably.

I've been doing this guitar thing for a little over 3 years and I have owned over 15 guitars - but I only have 4 right now. It seems like I buy a guitar. Play it for a while, grow bored or find that it is not the EXACT guitar for me, and then sell it. I've been hovering around 3 - 5 guitars, but the exact guitars keep changing!

Is there a cure? Luckily I only buy stuff at a low price, and then flip for a higher price when I'm finished with it, some my illness isn't affecting the family budget... SO FAR!

-=- Steve

"If the moon were made of ribs, would you eat it?"

(@noteboat)
Illustrious Member

Luckily I only buy stuff at a low price, and then flip for a higher price when I'm finished with it

That sounds more like a profit center than a problem :)

Guitar teacher offering lessons in Plainfield IL

ReplyQuote
(@alangreen)

Yeah, why can't I do that with cars

A :-)

"Be good at what you can do" - Fingerbanger"
I have always felt that it is better to do what is beautiful than what is 'right'" - Eliot Fisk
Wedding music and guitar lessons in Essex. Listen at: http://www.rollmopmusic.co.uk

ReplyQuote
(@rip-this-joint)
Estimable Member

Sounds like maybe you should focus on your playing. For me, I like using the same axe pretty much all time and feel like I play best on it. Whenever I pickup a friends axe or something it just feels different. I don't think I'd get into all that business of selling and buying until I was satisfied with my playing abilities. Aftter all, what do you need 4 guitars for if your not ready to really play any of them?

Good Day

ReplyQuote
(@the-dali)
Noble Member
Topic starter  

Rip, how true your words are... that's the problem! I'm obsessed with working on guitars instead of playing.

-=- Steve