does the major scale really exist...

14 Posts
9 Users
0 Likes
(@almann1979)
Noble Member
Topic starter  

or is it just a practical joke??

The reason i ask is that when i search for soloing tips on the internet, in find a bazillion pentatonic and blues lessons, a few harmonic minor lessons - but a lesson purely on major scale licks (not major pentatonic) - seems to not exist.

I almost always use the blues scale to solo over major keys, but the guilt of my lazyness has made me want to get more familar with the major scale - why is it so hard to find good major scale licks??

is it simply that the blues scale is so much easier to learn??

"I like to play that guitar. I have to stare at it while I'm playing it because I'm not very good at playing it."
Noel Gallagher (who took the words right out of my mouth)

(@davidhodge)

Hi Al

They definitely exist, maybe just not on the Internet or perhaps not in a "licks library" fashion. For example, I think the very first of our "Scales into Solos" lessons works with the differences between the pentatonic and major scales, but it's definitely a "hands on and see for yourself" sort of thing.

Books, on the other hand, can give you a whole bunch, particularly jazz books such as Jazz Guitar: Swing to Bebop by Doug Munro (excellent book - part of the "21st Century PRO METHOD" series by Warner Brothers).

The basic problem with "licks books" or even websites, is that they usually give you licks based on a certain single chord or tonality. The reality is that songs move in progressions and this is why the idea of having "targets" is so important. The scales are simply paths that you can use to get from one target to another. The major scale gives you a few more ways to reach a particular note than the pentatonic.