Clear all

Electric guitars left in hot cars all day

21 Posts
13 Users
0 Likes
12 K Views
(@lenie)
Topic starter  

I was hoping someone could answer a question for me. How bad would it be to leave an electric guitar in a hot car from about 8:30AM to 5:30PM one day a week? Would it hurt the guitar? I wouldn't leave it in direct sunlight (although there is no shade and the car would be), and I would cover it with something.

Thanks a lot for any help you can give me! :)

(@notes_norton)
Noble Member

I'm not an expert on this, but I wouldn't do it to my guitar.

Notes

Bob "Notes" Norton

Owner, Norton Music http://www.nortonmusic.com Add-on Styles for Band-in-a-Box and Microsoft SongSmith

The Sophisticats http://www.s-cats.com >^. .^< >^. .^<

ReplyQuote
(@kent_eh)
Noble Member

I wouldn't do it to any guitar I own.

But if you absolutely have to, here's the steps I would take:
- loosen the strings some. Not so loose that the trem or bridge falls off, but maybe a couple of steps down(E->C or B).
- Make sure the guitar is in a case or gig bag. The case will slow down the rate of temperature change that the guitar experiences. Maybe wrap the case in a blanket (a light coloured one, if you leave it in the passenger compartment) to further slow the rate of change.
- Make sure it's in the trunk. It *should* not get as hot in there, due to there being no glass to act as a greenhouse. Plus it's less likely that some looser will break your window and steal your guitar.
- Park in the shade, or in an area that will be shaded during the hottest part of the day. Perhaps in a parking structure that has a roof. Or on the north side of a larger vehicle if that's the best you can do.
- After you take the guitar out of the car and move it indoors, leave it in the case for a few hours to allow the guitar to SLOWLY change temperature to match the room.

I wrapped a newspaper ’round my head
So I looked like I was deep

ReplyQuote
(@elecktrablue)
Famed Member