Clear all

Feel the burn - or should i?

6 Posts
5 Users
0 Likes
(@almann1979)
Noble Member
Topic starter  

i often here about people excercising their hand until they feel the muscle burn, as a way of developing speed and strength.

i dont do this everyday, but i few times a week i will, for a short period of time, practice those exercises which i know will give me a muscle burn.

when i dont do these exercises, i sometimes feel like i have copped out a little and that i havent had a great practice.

however, i dont know why i feel this way.

Do we need to work our fingers so hard we get a muscle burn in our had, or does that actually cause injury - how long would you recommend such intense practice??

one one hand i want to improve strength and speed, but on the other i dont want tendonitis??

"I like to play that guitar. I have to stare at it while I'm playing it because I'm not very good at playing it."
Noel Gallagher (who took the words right out of my mouth)

(@anonymous)
Illustrious Member

if it burns, you're just working the muscle anaerobically and it shouldn't do any damage. however, unless you're learning a new technique and working new muscles, there's really no need to spend a lot of time at that intensity.
if it goes cold or numb or tingly or feels weird, you're harming a nerve.
i am currently taking a couple days off because i overdid it and the back of my hand is throbbing non-stop.

ReplyQuote
(@dogbite)
Illustrious Member

I agree with the above.
I can add:
strength will come with time too.
after many years my fingers and hands are much stronger at guitar than when I first began.
I never felt I had to work out to get better.
good practices do work.
I had been tired and 'worked out' feeling at times.
the next day felt great.
what I do think is important is the practice parts.
I now keep mine very simple. also, I don't confuse my memory by trying too many parts
in a practice. and the part I want to remember most will be the last part.