Clear all

Finger roll technique

5 Posts
5 Users
0 Likes
(@almann1979)
Noble Member
Topic starter  

I don't even know if it is called the finger roll technique, I just made that term up in the absence of another term :D

When sweeping, I really struggle with patterns that require rolling the finger across the "A" shaped barred chord. I find it so difficult to mute the strings and cant play it cleanly at all.

I am absolutely fine sweeping with shapes that don't require the finger barre, but I feel limited and have to shift positions more often than I would like to sweep in my preferred way.

YouTube is no help in how to practice this technique properly.

Anybody any advice on what I might be doing wrong??

Thanks.
Al

"I like to play that guitar. I have to stare at it while I'm playing it because I'm not very good at playing it."
Noel Gallagher (who took the words right out of my mouth)

(@fleaaaaaa)
Prominent Member

It really is called rolling...... you are not wrong...... but I don't sweep pick at all so I can't help.

together we stand, divided we fall..........

ReplyQuote
(@guitarforlife)

Don't remember having that much trouble with the rolling technique, so I'm not sure i can help you there. I also use my thumb on my picking hand to mute.

My Blog
www.playing-the-guitar.net

ReplyQuote
(@chykcha)

ya it's called the finger roll technqiue.

What you need is to release each string after you played it during the roll. So after playing the D string, release it as you roll the figner to G string and then release again as you roll to B. This will prevent the notes from playing together which you do not want.

hope this helps bro.

ReplyQuote
(@anonymous)
Illustrious Member

see, the thing is, stuff like that tends to use a bunch of tiny micromovements that are harder to explain. what i'm getting is that you have the technique down, it just sounds worse when you're playing that particular shape.