Clear all

From the club owner's perspective...

19 Posts
12 Users
0 Likes
(@honeyboy)
Estimable Member
Topic starter  

Not sure where this should go but I gave this thread a try...

If you ever want to be a working band it's good to understand the club owner's perspective. It took me years to learn what this club owner explains here...

Open Letter From A Club Owner

Rick Honeyboy Hart

"It's about tone, taste, and technique... in that order."

http://www.bluesguitarinsider.com
http://www.rickhoneyboyhart.com

cnev
(@cnev)
Famed Member

Yea, pretty simple. I worked in clubs way before I started playing music but it amazes me how many of the guys I have played with don't get it.

The band I was recently in broke up and part of the reason was the other guitar player said he didn't like the music we played and wanted to play more stuff like GNR etc songs with all these guitar solo's etc. But as much as I like to play some of that music too, it just doesn't get people dancing which means no one is going to be buying alot of drinks.

That article said it best it's NEVER about the band/music and ALWAYS about how much money it brings the owner.

It's really very simple not sure why so many musicians don't get it.

"It's all about stickin it to the man!"
It's a long way to the top if you want to rock n roll!

ReplyQuote
(@ezraplaysezra)
Honorable Member

You want to make club owners happy - Become a DJ or promote your own music and bring the audience with you.

ReplyQuote
(@notes_norton)
Noble Member

Back before it was important to be politically correct, and when it was OK to stereotype ethnic groups, the standard line used to be, "The bar owner only likes the music played by one instrument, The Jewish Piano."

The Jewish Piano is the cash register.

BTW, the first person who told me that was Lenny, of Lenny's lounge, one of the first bars I ever played in, and he was Jewish.

Insights and incites by Notes

Bob "Notes" Norton