Skip to content
Good at repairs/set...

Notifications
Clear all

Good at repairs/setup, rhythm playing, NEED help w/lead tab!

13 Posts
9 Users
0 Likes
(@mike-esposito)
Topic starter  

Hey, guys and girls- I'm new here in this forum, but have found this site before, and love it! Full of GREAT info. I want to start by saying I've been plucking away for 30 years, and I can help those who need a little insight on theory, chord construction, playing and singing, etc. I,m pretty good at the rhythym and chord part of guitars, and great at setup, repairs, truss, intonation, etc. I'm great at electronics(I'm a tech), pickups, etc. What I am HOPING one of you great lead players out there can help with is this- Now don't laugh! I'm a fan of 70's classic rock, Zeppelin, Floyd, Trower, Clapton, Stevie Ray, etc., but I also like ANYTHING that sounds good to my ear. I love the solo in Prince's "Let's Go Crazy". I know it's based on a basic pentatonic or blues scale, but I'm not good at figuring out fast leads by just hearing them. I've looked ALL over the World Wide Web, there's millions of tabs, but not Prince's "Let's Go Crazy". I even tried to find a book, and cant find one! Can anybody tell me, or direct me, to a way to learn this solo? Thanx, Mike

(@dogbite)
Illustrious Member

welcome to the forum. I have always disliked the Tabs I found on line. hate em.
I have toyed with the idea of getting a slow downer device. they are on sale now at guitar centers.
for under two hundred you can drop in a CD, play the song on pitch but slower.

http://www.soundclick.com/bands/pagemusic.cfm?bandID=644552
http://www.soundclick.com/couleerockinvaders

ReplyQuote
(@prndl)
Reputable Member

There are Guitar Pro files here
http://www.ultimate-guitar.com/search.php?s=Let%27s+Go+Crazy&w=songs

Transcribe! is great for slowing down songs.
In the old days, we used a tape recorder with a variable DC power supply. Lower DC voltage would slow down the tape speed.