Clear all

Greatest ever acoustic songs

22 Posts
21 Users
0 Likes
(@jwishart77)
Estimable Member
Topic starter  

Ok - I've been playing guitar for about 12 years now, and I find lately that I really enjoy acoustic. I used to play electric all the time when I was young. I think for the first 6 years I just played Metallica songs, occassionally chucking in Under the Bridge for a change up.......Must have driven my parents mad.

Fortunately my repetoire and appreciation of music managed to extend beyond that eventually to what I now believe is quite a respectable variety.

Anyway, I've noticed lately that my electrics have been gathering dust (I don't do any gigs at the moment and haven't for a while sadly) and my callouses have been getting bigger due to all this bashing away on my acoustic.

I have been jamming with a female sort of jazz style vocalist lately and also playing stuff myself, and I really want to work up to a few gigs. I do write my own stuff, but enjoy playing covers too. Basically what all this blathering on has been leading to is that I want to know what everyone's favourite/most impressive/rockingest/off the wall/craziest/most beautiful acoustic covers are. I'm hoping there will also be lots of songs/artists that are awesome and I've never even heard of yet. And also maybe some songs that work surprisingly well as acoustic versions - one's you wouldn't expect. I want to keep away from just strumming chords etc, I want songs that will keep my left hand interested and also impress the hell out of my cat.

I'll kick off the list with my usual favourites;

Jeff Buckley - Hallelujah, Last Goodbye, Grace
Johnny Cash - Hurt
Eva Cassidey - Autumn Leaves
Tommy Emmanuel's version of Classical Gas (very f'n cool, I've seen it on this blog - liveguitar.blogspot.com)
Metallica - Nothing Else Matters
The Smiths - The Boy With A Thorn In His Side
Dave Matthews - So Much To Say