Clear all

guitar choice

5 Posts
4 Users
0 Likes
(@bfloyd6969)
Estimable Member
Topic starter  

I have never been more undecided about a guitar purchase as I am right now. I've been playing acoustic solely for the past several years and have been without an electric the whole time. This year for father's day, the family wants to get me an electric again. I have been looking around and am interested in the following:

ESP LTD George Lynch GL200M - used
Sterling by Music Man AX20 - used
Ibanez SA260FM - used
Fender MIM strat - used
Fender MIM double fat strat - used
Steinberger Spirit GT Standard - new

All but the Steinie are used but in excellent to like new condition. I don't want to say I play a specific style, but I guess I lean more toward an old school, bluesy type punk. I would appreciate any and all comments on the guitars above and what you would buy. Thanks.

Why do we have to get old...

(@blue-jay)
Noble Member

I wouldn't tell you what to get, but my preference (what I like) would be the MIM Std. Strat with 3 single coils, for a good variety of sounds. And if it happens by some rare chance to be a Deluxe or Classic model, re-issue, that's a bit better! :D

There's the reliability and comfort factor too. Try a Std. Strat and see if you can handle slight decrease in width at the nut. Also without looking it up, I expect a Classic Strat to have 7.25" radius, and the Std. to be 9.5". The others may be flatter?

Oh BTW, I edited and looked it up, nut width, even on the Std. is said to be 42 mm. like the others - that's good, but comes as a surprise when they were narrower before. I have some older MIM Std's and they jam up my fingers due to tight spaces.

Like a bird on the wire,
like a drunk in a midnight choir
I have tried in my way to be free.

ReplyQuote
(@bfloyd6969)
Estimable Member
Topic starter