Clear all

Guitar depression

18 Posts
14 Users
0 Likes
(@metallicaman)
Honorable Member
Topic starter  

Hi. I Seem to be finding myself playing the same blues scale and regular solos that I play every day day after day for years, Ive really tried to learn new stuff but its really hard playing things I dont know my fav solos are like Mr.crowley, Crazy Train. Ram it Down, and Eruption. Any other solo I either already know or it just doesnt interest me. Theres lots of solos by those Main 80's bands twisted sister, poison, motley crue, and Judas priest that I dont know how to play but every time i try one I just cant get it to sound like it at all in the first like 15 min of trying so i just quit. I know i should play harder but After 20 min and seeing NO proggression on a new solo or even song I just quit. I am starting to lose that EXCITE for guitar b/c Ive been playing it seems like the same stuff for 2 years. Please any input would be awesome. :( :(

Sing Me A Song Your a Singer, Do me a wrong, your a bringer of evil. - Dio

(@voodoo_merman)
Reputable Member

If playing guitar gets you depressed, then stop playing. Simple.

The next time you pick up your guitar, try to enjoy the journey of learning and not just reaching the destination. If you dont enjoy practicing, then guitar will drive you nuts.

Try some other hobbies for awhile and then come back to your axe. This time, dont cry when you dont sound like Van Halen after 30 mins. Instead, just enjoy making progress and take it one day at a time. Trust me, it takes alot of time and persaverance to sound like a pro.

Sorry, if that was blunt. But, if you want to be a guitarist, this is the bitter pill you have to swallow.

At this time I would like to tell you that NO MATTER WHAT...IT IS WITH GOD. HE IS GRACIOUS AND MERCIFUL. HIS WAY IS IN LOVE, THROUGH WHICH WE ALL ARE. IT IS TRULY -- A LOVE SUPREME --. John Coltrane

ReplyQuote
(@anonymous)
Illustrious Member