Skip to content
Guitar Kits Direct....

Notifications
Clear all

Guitar Kits Direct... Any experience anyone please...

13 Posts
9 Users
0 Likes
(@grumps)
Eminent Member
Topic starter  

I really want to build a guitar from scratch, but i'm on a budget. From the photos i've seen these guitars look promising and FAIRLY simple for a beginner like me. If you keep in mind that i'm a newbie to making guitars and not the greatest player on earth, (though part of the appeal is understanding how they're put together), can anyone with experience of them tell me what they think of them? As I said i'm on a budget so I dont want a comparison to the real deal, but does anyone have a real experience of whether you get what you pay for? I realise that in part it depends on the work I perform putting it together but i'm asking about overall quality. Will I get my moneys worth or not?..

(@ezraplaysezra)
Honorable Member

I don't know this company. Generally, these kits are alright. If you're looking for a gibson type guitar check out bulldog guitars they usually have slight blems at really good price. For the most part the hard ware on these kits are garbage. So if you can buy a guitar only and piece the hardware together from the used market that's the way to go. Guitar fetish has great parts and kits too.

ReplyQuote
(@trguitar)
Famed Member

Guitar fetish has great parts and kits too.
+1

"Work hard, rock hard, eat hard, sleep hard,
grow big, wear glasses if you need 'em."
-- The Webb Wilder Credo --

ReplyQuote
 Bish
(@bish)
Famed Member

I hope this doesn't come off as errogant but I've built 9 guitars over the past 2.5 years. Mostly, strats and a couple of Tele's. I purchased all the parts from EBay dealers with good reputations with no issues that weren't my fault to start with. (Ordering the wrong finish and the dealers even trying to make it right)