Notifications
Clear all

Hammer On, Pull Off Help

8 Posts
8 Users
0 Likes
(@ghost666-13)
Topic starter  

I just recently bought a kinda cheap Washburn electric guitar and I'm new at guitar, but I've learned to play a few songs and I've noticed that I can't really do hamemr ons and pull offs that well. As soon as I slide to another fret without strumming, the sound goes blank. I'm not pulling off the string completely either, but would this be becasue of the amp i'm using, my guitar, my equipment (just the guitar and a peavey amp), or my guitar playing skills?

(@hyperborea)
Prominent Member

I just recently bought a kinda cheap Washburn electric guitar and I'm new at guitar, but I've learned to play a few songs and I've noticed that I can't really do hamemr ons and pull offs that well. As soon as I slide to another fret without strumming, the sound goes blank.

Are you sliding or hammering on? Sliding is when you fret a note and then slide the finger on the fretboard to another note without lifting the finger. Hammer on is fretting a note with one finger then hammering down with another finger on another fret on the same string without picking the string with the other hand.
I'm not pulling off the string completely either, but would this be becasue of the amp i'm using, my guitar, my equipment (just the guitar and a peavey amp),

Unlikely especially for the amp. Could be the guitar but then you'd see other problems too.
or my guitar playing skills?

This is probably it. It takes a while to build up the finger strength and skill to do these right especially pull offs. Just take 5 to 10 minutes every practice to work on hammer ons and pull offs. Take it slow, don't worry about speed and just do it over and over. At first you won't get it, then it will be muffled or you'll hit other strings as you pull off, and then finally you'll get it.