Notifications
Clear all

Hello, And a Progress Question

9 Posts
7 Users
0 Likes
(@richw)
Topic starter  

Hello everyone, first of all; I'm new to Guitarnoise but I've already found the loads of information on these forums and on the site itself to be extremely helpful. Thanks to everyone for their contributions--they make the life of a beginning guitar player such as myself a hell of a lot easier.

On to my main question, though. I've been playing guitar since August (immediately bought a good guitar since I was 100% sure I wanted to go on with it--an American Deluxe Fat Strat, I'm SO proud of it and it invites me to keep playing deep into the night), and I was wondering whether I was making enough progress.

Today I finally got the hang of Jack Johnson's 'Sitting Waiting Wishing'. It's basically the most difficult song I can play properly right now--based on the difficulty (or ease, I suspect) of the song, would you say my progress has been slow or good enough for these past three months of playing? I want to know, because if my progress has been slow I may need to look into getting a teacher after all, or refine my practice techniques: I have been putting in the hours.

Regards and TYA for replies,

Rich

Nils
(@nils)
Famed Member

Rich

Welcome to GN. I hope and think you will find most everything here that you will need and a lot of talented people to answer your questions.

I think it will be difficult at best to give you a definitive answer on your progress based on one song. There are a lot of factors that go into your progress like what type of chords you know, how well you change chords, do you know your scales, do you know the notes on the fretboard and many many more.

From your brief description I would guess you are doing well but you need to measure what you can do compared to what your goals are. One of the benefits of having a teacher is that they can help you set achievable goals and help you measure against them.