Clear all

Hi I'm New! Need information on ShoBro

27 Posts
10 Users
0 Likes
14.5 K Views
(@dellani)
Topic starter  

Hello one and all. I have no experience playing a guitar, though I hope to one day. I came here mostly because I am in search of information. I am hoping someone out there can point me in the right direction.

My oldest son (22 - and a very good guitarist) was willed a Sho-Bro guitar when my cousin's husband died. We are currently trying to find out anything we can about it. Precious little, as it turns out. The guitar is made by Gretsch. It has a curved neck and the body is a cutaway - similar in shape to the Gretsch Silver Jet. The serial number on the back (by the Made in USA marker) is 4 3051. I read up on Gretsch serial numbers, but didn't see anything like this one. Is there anyone who can help me decipher this? Where can I go to find out more for my son? He is very interested in the history of his instrument. It was dearly loved by Marty, the man who left it to him. My son has no intention of selling the guitar, he just wants to know its roots. Thank you for any information you can give me! :)

"Play me a song, Curtis Lowe, Curtis Lowe. I've got your drinking money, so tune up your Dobro..." Ballad of Curtis Lowe by Lynyrd Skynyrd

(@elecktrablue)
Famed Member

Quote from Ric Nelson:

"The ShoBro, a resonated guitar eventually available in both Spanish and Hawaiian models, was first manufactured by Shot Jackson beginning in the 1950s. The guitars have a larger body and an arched back producing a mellower sound than other resonator guitars, even though the ShoBros have a Dobro® resonator. Over time, they were available in 5, 6 and 7 string models.