Skip to content
Holding the pick di...

Notifications
Clear all

Holding the pick differently for picking/strumming?

3 Posts
2 Users
0 Likes
(@dan_54321)
Eminent Member
Topic starter  

I've been playing guitar on and off for about 8 years. If I'm picking individual notes I tend to hold the pick in the 'proper' way, between the thumb and side of the forefinger (i.e. in the picture here http://guitar.about.com/library/weekly/aa071200g.htm ). However, I find this way of holding the pick doesn't work very well for strumming, especially when strumming fast powerchords on 3 strings. I've always strummed holding the pick between my thumb and end of the finger, which i find is better for getting more of a flicking action from the wrist and helps the pick hit the strings a lot cleaner; it just sounds and feels a lot better than when i hold the pick in the 'proper' way. The only problem with this is that when I'm changing between strumming and picking notes I have to change the way i hold the pick quickly. Does anyone else hold the pick differently when they're picking and strumming? Ideally I would hold the pick in the 'proper' way for strumming, but I've practised for years and I've just never been able to strum properly/cleanly holding the pick that way, either hitting the strings too hard or too soft and not really being able to get a decent strumming action from the wrist. Any thoughts/suggestions?

(@gnease)
Illustrious Member