Clear all

Hopefully, coming back.

14 Posts
8 Users
0 Likes
(@infamous16)
Trusted Member
Topic starter  

So I am just getting back to guitar, kinda feel like ditching the whole heavy metal thing, and going a different way.

I used to be pretty intermediate, playing killswitch engage songs and such, but I am getting back, and now self taught, so I need an idea of were to get started.

I'm hoping to get good enough to be able to improvise and such, but that might take awhile, and some practice.

So basically, I was wondering what songs I should try to be learning if I am getting back into the alternative, rock, just stuff besides metal...If you could name some bands that I should start getting into playing some of there songs, that would be cool. The most metal stuff I will play right now is probably Metallica, and I might pick up there tab book today just so i have it.

I am self taught now, so I dont really know if I should just try to learn some songs, or are there techniques i should be learning? Maybe point me in the way of lessons on this website that should help me out?

I've just never done this whole "Self Taught" thing before, my guitar teacher would always just teach me songs, and occasionally some pentatonic scale or something.

blah.

(@dogbite)
Illustrious Member

don't reinvent all of yourself. gotta say that first off.
apply what you know.
next. play without stepping on a pedal for a good while. play clean. pay attention to how it sounds.
learn what you can do with it. sustain, damping, mute, bends. etc.
as for songs?
what lights your board? I like old stuff.
and older stuff than that lately. so I am learning new rhythms, phrasings and chords.

http://www.soundclick.com/bands/pagemusic.cfm?bandID=644552
http://www.soundclick.com/couleerockinvaders

ReplyQuote
(@voodoo_merman)
Reputable Member